First Calf

Our First Baby

I got home from getting the kids from school yesterday and the cows were up by the house.  Nothing unusual.  They know they get fed around about that time, so they come up and watch us, getting ready.  They’re quite comical really.  Sometimes they push and shove just like kids, which wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t weigh 1500 pounds!  But they’re pretty friendly for the most part.

I’ve been walking among them for the last week or so just checking to make sure all is well.  It’s time for them to start having their calves and I want to make sure there are no complications, because living, breathing calves are better than … well, you know.  I’m a little jittery since our first calf was still born less than a week ago.

So we arrive home and everything’s right in the world.  We go inside and not 30 minutes later I look out the window to watch our silly girls still waiting by the fence.  I notice something small and black lying on the ground beside one of the cows and I rush outside not believing my eyes.  Momma is cleaning it up and I say a quick thank you prayer for a fast, easy delivery … and on a pretty day too!  I hope the other 13 are just like that! (16 cows, 1 unbred, 1 still born, 1 on the ground = 13 to go and I’ll keep you posted!)

